Learn English with English book bestseller “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe”

Estimated read time 2 min read
“The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe” is a fantasy Novel for children by the Irish writer CS Lewis. The book was published in 1950, followed by six more volumes in the series “The Chronicles of Narnia”. In the chronological order, the King of Narnia is the second volume after “The Magician’s Nephew” published in 1956. “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe” describes the story of the four siblings Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy, who were sent to an old professor in the countryside in the face of the air strikes on London during World War II. In the mysterious big house, the four children get into the fantastic world of Narnia through a wardrobe, which is inhabited by mythical creatures such as centaurs, faunas and nymphs, fairytale characters such as dwarfs and giants as well as by talking animals. The youngest, Lucy, is the first to go to Narnia, where there is an icy winter; in the lantern forest (in the middle of which there is a street lamp) she makes friends with the Faun Tumnus, who tells her that winter has been in Narnia for a hundred years, but without Christmas. Winter is caused by the “White Witch”, Jadis, who has risen to the Empress of Narnia and with her magic envelops the country in winter and turns all enemies into stone. She only fears the intrusion of “two sons of Adam and two daughters of Eva” who, according to an old prophecy, will climb the four throne chairs in the old royal fortress of Cair Paravel and end their rule. Available at our partner:
Join our English book club to introduce, review & comment classic English literature: https://www.facebook.com/groups/learnenglishbooks

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours